Armenia Abbreviations

Armenia, a landlocked country in the South Caucasus region of Eurasia, is renowned for its rich history, cultural heritage, and breathtaking landscapes. Navigating Armenia’s administrative, linguistic, and economic realms requires familiarity with various abbreviations. Here, we will list Armenia’s abbreviations, encompassing ISO codes, airport identifiers, and entity acronyms.

ISO 3-Letter Code: ARM

The International Organization for Standardization (ISO) assigns unique three-letter codes to countries worldwide. Armenia’s ISO 3166-1 alpha-3 country code is “ARM.” This code is used in international contexts such as trade, finance, and telecommunications to uniquely identify Armenia.

ISO 2-Letter Code: AM

In addition to the three-letter code, Armenia is assigned a two-letter ISO 3166-1 alpha-2 country code, which is “AM.” This code is commonly used in situations where brevity is essential, such as airline ticketing, postal services, and online forms.

Top-Level Domain: .am

The Internet Assigned Numbers Authority (IANA) designates top-level domains (TLDs) for each country. Armenia’s country-code top-level domain (ccTLD) is “.am.” Websites registered under this domain extension are typically associated with entities based in Armenia or those with significant interests in the country.

Currency: AMD (Armenian Dram)

The Armenian dram (AMD) serves as the official currency of Armenia. Symbolized by “֏” or “AMD,” it is subdivided into 100 luma. The dram is used for various transactions within Armenia, reflecting the country’s economic landscape and financial system.

Language Code: Armenian (hy)

Armenian is the official language of Armenia, spoken by the majority of the population. In the context of language codes, Armenian is represented by the ISO 639-1 language code “hy.” This code is utilized in linguistic studies, translation services, and software localization to identify the Armenian language.

Major Airports

  1. Zvartnots International Airport (EVN): Located near the capital city, Yerevan, Zvartnots International Airport is the busiest airport in Armenia. It serves as the primary gateway to the country, handling both domestic and international flights.
  2. Shirak International Airport (LWN): Situated near the city of Gyumri, Shirak International Airport is the second-largest airport in Armenia. It plays a vital role in facilitating air travel to and from the northwestern region of the country.
  3. Stepanavan Airport (LWN): Serving the town of Stepanavan, this airport provides domestic flights within Armenia, particularly catering to the transportation needs of the Lori Province.
  4. Gyumri Shirak Airport (LWN): Located in the city of Gyumri, this airport serves the Shirak Province in northwestern Armenia. It contributes to regional connectivity, offering domestic flights within the country.
  5. Erebuni Airport (EVN): Situated in Yerevan, Erebuni Airport primarily serves as a military airbase but also handles some civilian flights, particularly domestic flights within Armenia.
  6. Goris Airport (LWN): Located near the town of Goris, this airport provides domestic flights within Armenia, serving the transportation needs of the Syunik Province.
  7. Kapan Airport (LWN): Serving the town of Kapan, this airport offers domestic flights within Armenia, particularly connecting the Syunik Province to other parts of the country.
  8. Sevan Airport (EVN): Situated near Lake Sevan, this airport primarily serves as a recreational aviation facility, catering to private and charter flights.
  9. Vedi Airport (EVN): Located near the town of Vedi, this airport supports domestic flights within Armenia, providing transportation services to the Ararat Province.
  10. Yerevan Byurakan Airport (EVN): Serving the town of Byurakan, this airport provides domestic flights within Armenia, particularly connecting the Aragatsotn Province to other parts of the country.

Acronyms for Major Entities

  1. GOAM: Government of Armenia – GOAM refers to the central government of Armenia, responsible for governance and public administration in the country.
  2. CBA: Central Bank of Armenia – CBA is Armenia’s central bank, responsible for monetary policy, currency issuance, and financial regulation.
  3. RAU: Russian-Armenian University – RAU is a leading educational institution in Armenia, offering a wide range of undergraduate and graduate programs in various fields of study.
  4. ACBA: Agricultural Cooperative Bank of Armenia – ACBA is one of the largest banks in Armenia, specializing in agricultural financing and rural development.
  5. ANCA: Armenian National Committee of America – ANCA is a grassroots advocacy organization based in the United States, dedicated to promoting the interests of the Armenian-American community and advocating for Armenian causes.