Bhutan Abbreviations

Bhutan, a landlocked country nestled in the eastern Himalayas, is renowned for its stunning landscapes, unique culture, and commitment to Gross National Happiness. Navigating Bhutan effectively requires an understanding of its abbreviations, ranging from ISO codes to airport identifiers and entity acronyms. Here, we will list Bhutan’s abbreviations and their significance.

ISO 3-Letter Code: BTN

The International Organization for Standardization (ISO) assigns unique three-letter codes to countries worldwide. Bhutan’s ISO 3166-1 alpha-3 country code is “BTN.” This code is used in international contexts such as trade, finance, and telecommunications to uniquely identify Bhutan.

ISO 2-Letter Code: BT

In addition to the three-letter code, Bhutan is assigned a two-letter ISO 3166-1 alpha-2 country code, which is “BT.” This code is commonly used in situations where brevity is essential, such as airline ticketing, postal services, and online forms.

Top-Level Domain: .bt

The Internet Assigned Numbers Authority (IANA) designates top-level domains (TLDs) for each country. Bhutan’s country-code top-level domain (ccTLD) is “.bt.” Websites registered under this domain extension are typically associated with entities based in Bhutan or those with significant interests in the country.

Currency: Bhutanese Ngultrum (BTN)

The Bhutanese ngultrum (BTN) serves as the official currency of Bhutan. Symbolized by “Nu.” or “BTN,” it is issued and regulated by the Royal Monetary Authority of Bhutan (RMA). The Bhutanese ngultrum is used for various transactions within Bhutan, reflecting the country’s economic landscape and financial system.

Language Code: Dzongkha (dz)

Dzongkha is the national language of Bhutan and is used in government, education, and official communication. In the context of language codes, Dzongkha is represented by the ISO 639-1 language code “dz.” This code is utilized in linguistic studies, translation services, and software localization to identify the Dzongkha language.

Major Airports

  1. Paro International Airport (PBH): Located in Paro Valley, Paro International Airport is Bhutan’s sole international airport. Nestled amidst the Himalayas, it is known for its challenging approach and stunning scenery. Paro Airport connects Bhutan to destinations such as Bangkok, Delhi, Kathmandu, and Singapore.
  2. Bumthang Airport (BUT): Situated in Jakar, Bumthang Airport serves the Bumthang District in central Bhutan. It primarily handles domestic flights to and from Paro, providing access to the cultural heartland of Bhutan.
  3. Yongphulla Airport (YON): Located in Trashigang, Yongphulla Airport serves the eastern region of Bhutan. It offers domestic flights to and from Paro, facilitating travel for residents and tourists in the eastern part of the country.
  4. Gelephu Airport (GLU): Situated in Gelephu, Gelephu Airport serves the southern region of Bhutan. It provides domestic flights to and from Paro, offering convenient access to the subtropical landscapes and wildlife sanctuaries of southern Bhutan.
  5. Thimphu Airport (JTY): Located near the capital city of Thimphu, Thimphu Airport serves as a domestic airport for the Thimphu District. While primarily used for helicopter services, there are plans for its expansion to accommodate fixed-wing aircraft in the future.
  6. Punakha Airport (PBQ): Situated in Punakha, Punakha Airport serves the Punakha District in central Bhutan. It facilitates domestic flights to and from Paro, providing access to the historic Punakha Dzong and surrounding attractions.
  7. Lhuntse Airport (LHI): Located in Lhuntse, Lhuntse Airport serves the northeastern region of Bhutan. It offers domestic flights to and from Paro, connecting the remote communities of Lhuntse District to the rest of the country.
  8. Trongsa Airport (TJS): Situated in Trongsa, Trongsa Airport serves the Trongsa District in central Bhutan. It provides domestic flights to and from Paro, serving as a gateway to Trongsa Dzong and nearby cultural sites.
  9. Gasa Airport (GAS): Located in Gasa, Gasa Airport serves the Gasa District in northern Bhutan. It offers domestic flights to and from Paro, providing access to the pristine natural landscapes and hot springs of Gasa.
  10. Dagana Airport (DGN): Situated in Dagana, Dagana Airport serves the Dagana District in southwestern Bhutan. It facilitates domestic flights to and from Paro, supporting travel and transportation in the region.

Acronyms for Major Entities

  1. RGOB: Royal Government of Bhutan – RGOB represents the governing body of Bhutan, responsible for policy formulation, administration, and governance.
  2. RMA: Royal Monetary Authority of Bhutan – RMA is the central bank of Bhutan, responsible for monetary policy, currency issuance, and financial regulation.
  3. GNHC: Gross National Happiness Commission – GNHC is a government agency tasked with monitoring and promoting the holistic development and well-being of Bhutanese citizens, based on the principles of Gross National Happiness.
  4. BPC: Bhutan Power Corporation – BPC is the state-owned utility company responsible for generating, transmitting, and distributing electricity in Bhutan.
  5. BDBL: Bhutan Development Bank Limited – BDBL is a financial institution in Bhutan that provides banking and financial services to support the development of small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs) and rural communities.