Bolivia Abbreviations

Bolivia, nestled in the heart of South America, boasts diverse landscapes, rich cultural heritage, and a complex administrative system. Navigating Bolivia effectively requires an understanding of its abbreviations, including ISO codes, airport identifiers, and entity acronyms. Here, we will list Bolivia’s abbreviations and their significance.

ISO 3-Letter Code: BOL

The International Organization for Standardization (ISO) assigns unique three-letter codes to countries worldwide. Bolivia’s ISO 3166-1 alpha-3 country code is “BOL.” This code is utilized in international transactions, communications, and data management systems to uniquely identify Bolivia.

ISO 2-Letter Code: BO

In addition to the three-letter code, Bolivia is assigned a two-letter ISO 3166-1 alpha-2 country code, which is “BO.” This code is widely used in various contexts, including international trade, transportation, and online forms, to denote Bolivia.

Top-Level Domain: .bo

The top-level domain (TLD) “.bo” is assigned to Bolivia by the Internet Assigned Numbers Authority (IANA). Websites with “.bo” extensions are associated with entities based in Bolivia or targeting the Bolivian audience.

Currency: Bolivian Boliviano (BOB)

The Bolivian boliviano (BOB) serves as the official currency of Bolivia. Symbolized by “Bs.” or “BOB,” it is subdivided into 100 centavos. The Bolivian boliviano is used for various transactions within Bolivia, reflecting the country’s economic landscape and financial system.

Language Code: Spanish (es), Quechua (qu), Aymara (ay)

Bolivia’s linguistic diversity is reflected in its language codes. Spanish is represented by “es,” Quechua by “qu,” and Aymara by “ay.” These language codes are employed in multilingual communication, translation services, and software localization to identify the languages spoken in Bolivia.

Major Airports

  1. El Alto International Airport (LPB): Located in El Alto, near La Paz, El Alto International Airport is Bolivia’s largest and busiest airport. It serves as the primary gateway for international flights, connecting Bolivia to destinations in South America, North America, and Europe.
  2. Viru Viru International Airport (VVI): Situated in Santa Cruz de la Sierra, Viru Viru International Airport is one of Bolivia’s major airports. It serves as a hub for domestic and international flights, connecting Bolivia to destinations across South America and beyond.
  3. Jorge Wilstermann International Airport (CBB): Located in Cochabamba, Jorge Wilstermann International Airport facilitates domestic and international flights, serving the Cochabamba Department and surrounding regions.
  4. Juana Azurduy de Padilla International Airport (SRE): Situated in Sucre, the constitutional capital of Bolivia, Juana Azurduy de Padilla International Airport serves as a vital link for domestic flights to and from Sucre.
  5. Tarija Airport (TJA): Located in Tarija, Tarija Airport serves the Tarija Department in southern Bolivia. It offers domestic flights to and from major cities such as La Paz, Santa Cruz, and Cochabamba.
  6. Yacuiba Airport (BYC): Situated in Yacuiba, Yacuiba Airport serves the Tarija Department, facilitating domestic flights within Bolivia.
  7. Cobija Airport (CIJ): Located in Cobija, Cobija Airport serves the Pando Department in northern Bolivia. It provides domestic flights to and from cities such as La Paz and Santa Cruz.
  8. Capitán Av. Juan Cochamanidis Airport (PSZ): Situated in Potosí, Capitán Av. Juan Cochamanidis Airport serves the Potosí Department, offering domestic flights within Bolivia.
  9. Capitán Oriel Lea Plaza Airport (TDD): Located in Trinidad, Capitán Oriel Lea Plaza Airport serves the Beni Department, providing domestic flights to and from major cities in Bolivia.
  10. Rurrenabaque Airport (RBQ): Situated in Rurrenabaque, Rurrenabaque Airport serves as a gateway to the Bolivian Amazon rainforest, offering domestic flights to and from major cities such as La Paz and Santa Cruz.

Acronyms for Major Entities

  1. GOB: Government of Bolivia – GOB represents the governing body of Bolivia, responsible for enacting laws, implementing policies, and managing public affairs.
  2. BCE: Central Bank of Bolivia – BCE is the central bank of Bolivia, responsible for monetary policy, currency issuance, and financial regulation.
  3. YPFB: Yacimientos Petrolíferos Fiscales Bolivianos – YPFB is Bolivia’s national oil and gas company, responsible for exploration, production, and distribution of petroleum and natural gas resources.
  4. ANH: Agencia Nacional de Hidrocarburos – ANH is the National Hydrocarbons Agency of Bolivia, responsible for regulating and overseeing the hydrocarbons sector, including exploration, production, and distribution.
  5. AASANA: Administración de Aeropuertos y Servicios Auxiliares a la Navegación Aérea – AASANA is Bolivia’s airport and air navigation services administration, responsible for managing and operating airports and air traffic control services throughout Bolivia.