Brunei Abbreviations

Brunei, a small yet prosperous country on the island of Borneo, is known for its rich culture, stunning landscapes, and economic stability. To navigate effectively through Brunei, understanding its abbreviations is crucial. From ISO codes to airport identifiers and entity acronyms, each abbreviation serves a specific purpose in communication and identification within the country. In this guide, we’ll explore Brunei’s abbreviations and their significance.

ISO 3-Letter Code: BRN

The International Organization for Standardization (ISO) assigns unique three-letter codes to countries worldwide. Brunei’s ISO 3166-1 alpha-3 country code is “BRN.” This code is used in international transactions, communications, and data management systems to uniquely identify Brunei.

ISO 2-Letter Code: BN

In addition to the three-letter code, Brunei is assigned a two-letter ISO 3166-1 alpha-2 country code, which is “BN.” This code is widely used in various contexts, including international trade, transportation, and online forms, to denote Brunei.

Top-Level Domain: .bn

The top-level domain (TLD) “.bn” is assigned to Brunei by the Internet Assigned Numbers Authority (IANA). Websites with “.bn” extensions are associated with entities based in Brunei or targeting the Bruneian audience.

Currency: Brunei Dollar (BND)

The Brunei dollar (BND) serves as the official currency of Brunei. Symbolized by “B$” or “BND,” it is subdivided into 100 cents. The Brunei dollar is used for various transactions within Brunei, reflecting the country’s economic landscape and financial system.

Language Code: Malay (ms)

Malay is the official language of Brunei. In the context of language codes, Malay is represented by “ms.” This language code is employed in multilingual communication, translation services, and software localization to identify the language spoken in Brunei.

Major Airports

  1. Brunei International Airport (BWN): Located in the capital city, Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei International Airport is the main gateway to Brunei. It serves domestic and international flights, connecting Brunei to destinations across Asia and beyond.
  2. Anduki Airfield (BDY): Situated in Seria, Anduki Airfield serves as a small domestic airport primarily used for private and charter flights.
  3. Sungai Liang Airport (SGL): Located in Sungai Liang, Sungai Liang Airport serves the Belait District and facilitates domestic flights within Brunei.
  4. Muara Airport (MUA): Situated in Muara, Muara Airport primarily serves the Muara District and facilitates domestic flights within Brunei.
  5. Labuan Airport (LBU): Located in Labuan, Malaysia, Labuan Airport serves as an alternative gateway to Brunei, providing domestic and international flights to and from Labuan Island.
  6. Limbang Airport (LMN): Situated in Limbang, Malaysia, Limbang Airport serves the Limbang District and facilitates flights between Limbang and Brunei.
  7. Kuala Belait Airport (KUB): Located in Kuala Belait, Kuala Belait Airport serves the Kuala Belait District and facilitates domestic flights within Brunei.
  8. Raja Isteri Pengiran Anak Saleha Hospital Heliport (HRC): Situated in Bandar Seri Begawan, Raja Isteri Pengiran Anak Saleha Hospital Heliport primarily serves medical evacuation flights for Raja Isteri Pengiran Anak Saleha Hospital.
  9. Pulau Muara Besar Heliport (WMP): Located on Pulau Muara Besar, Pulau Muara Besar Heliport serves the industrial island and facilitates helicopter flights for offshore oil and gas operations.
  10. Sultan Hassanal Bolkiah International Airport (BWN): Situated in Bandar Seri Begawan, Sultan Hassanal Bolkiah International Airport serves as the main airport for the Royal Brunei Air Force and facilitates military and civilian flights.

Acronyms for Major Entities

  1. GOB: Government of Brunei – GOB represents the governing body of Brunei, responsible for policy formulation, administration, and governance at the national level.
  2. BIA: Brunei Investment Agency – BIA is a government agency responsible for managing Brunei’s sovereign wealth fund and investing in various domestic and international assets.
  3. AMBD: Autoriti Monetari Brunei Darussalam – AMBD is Brunei’s central bank and financial regulatory authority, responsible for monetary policy, currency issuance, and financial stability.
  4. UBD: Universiti Brunei Darussalam – UBD is Brunei’s national university, offering a wide range of undergraduate and postgraduate programs across various disciplines.
  5. BIA: Brunei Islamic Affairs – BIA is a government agency responsible for overseeing Islamic affairs and promoting Islamic values and practices in Brunei.