Egypt Abbreviations

Egypt, a country steeped in history and culture, employs various abbreviations crucial for communication, identification, and governance both domestically and internationally. From ISO codes to airport identifiers and entity acronyms, each abbreviation serves a specific purpose in facilitating interactions and operations. Here, we will list Egypt’s abbreviations and their significance.

ISO 3-Letter Code: EGY

The International Organization for Standardization (ISO) assigns unique three-letter codes to countries worldwide. Egypt’s ISO 3166-1 alpha-3 country code is “EGY.” This code serves as a distinct identifier for Egypt in international transactions and communications.

ISO 2-Letter Code: EG

In addition to the three-letter code, Egypt is assigned a two-letter ISO 3166-1 alpha-2 country code, which is “EG.” This code is widely used in international contexts, such as transportation and online forms, to represent Egypt succinctly.

Top-Level Domain: .eg

Websites associated with Egypt typically use the top-level domain “.eg.” This domain extension serves as a digital identifier for Egyptian entities on the internet, including businesses, organizations, and individuals.

Currency: Egyptian Pound (EGP)

The Egyptian Pound (EGP) is the official currency of Egypt. It serves as the primary medium of exchange for financial transactions within the country. The Egyptian Pound is abbreviated as “EGP” in international financial transactions and currency exchanges.

Language Code: Arabic (ar)

Arabic is the official language of Egypt, represented by the language code “ar.” This code is utilized in multilingual communication, translation services, and software localization to identify Arabic-language content.

Major Airports

  1. Cairo International Airport (CAI): Located in the capital city of Cairo, Cairo International Airport is Egypt’s busiest airport and serves as a major hub for international and domestic flights. It facilitates air travel to and from various destinations worldwide.
  2. Hurghada International Airport (HRG): Situated in the resort town of Hurghada on the Red Sea coast, Hurghada International Airport is a key gateway for tourists visiting popular destinations in the Red Sea region, including Hurghada and Sharm El Sheikh.
  3. Sharm El Sheikh International Airport (SSH): Located in the city of Sharm El Sheikh on the southern tip of the Sinai Peninsula, Sharm El Sheikh International Airport is a major airport serving tourists traveling to the Red Sea resorts and nearby attractions.
  4. Luxor International Airport (LXR): Situated near the city of Luxor on the east bank of the Nile River, Luxor International Airport serves as a gateway to Egypt’s ancient attractions, including the Valley of the Kings and Karnak Temple Complex.
  5. Alexandria International Airport (HBE): Located near the city of Alexandria on the Mediterranean coast, Alexandria International Airport facilitates air travel to and from Egypt’s second-largest city and serves as a regional airport for the northern region.
  6. Aswan International Airport (ASW): Situated near the city of Aswan in southern Egypt, Aswan International Airport serves as a gateway to Aswan’s archaeological sites, including the Aswan High Dam and Philae Temple.
  7. Borg El Arab Airport (HBE): Located near the city of Alexandria, Borg El Arab Airport is a secondary airport serving Alexandria and the surrounding region, handling both domestic and international flights.
  8. Marsa Alam International Airport (RMF): Situated near the town of Marsa Alam on the Red Sea coast, Marsa Alam International Airport primarily serves tourists visiting the Marsa Alam resort area and nearby diving sites.
  9. Sohag International Airport (HMB): Located near the city of Sohag in Upper Egypt, Sohag International Airport serves as a regional airport, connecting the city with other destinations within Egypt.
  10. Marsa Matruh International Airport (MUH): Situated near the city of Marsa Matruh on the Mediterranean coast, Marsa Matruh International Airport serves as a gateway to Egypt’s North Coast resorts and attractions.

Acronyms for Major Entities

  1. GAFI: General Authority for Investment and Free Zones – GAFI is the primary government agency responsible for promoting and facilitating investment in Egypt. It aims to attract foreign direct investment and support the development of free zones.
  2. CBE: Central Bank of Egypt – CBE is the central bank of Egypt, responsible for formulating and implementing monetary policy, issuing currency, and regulating the banking and financial sector.
  3. EGPC: Egyptian General Petroleum Corporation – EGPC is the state-owned entity responsible for managing Egypt’s petroleum resources, including exploration, production, refining, and distribution of petroleum products.
  4. SIS: State Information Service – SIS is the government agency responsible for disseminating information about Egypt to the domestic and international media. It serves as the official spokesperson for the Egyptian government.
  5. NTRA: National Telecommunications Regulatory Authority – NTRA is the regulatory body responsible for overseeing telecommunications and information technology services in Egypt. It regulates the telecommunications sector and ensures compliance with relevant laws and regulations.