Guinea-Bissau Abbreviations

Guinea-Bissau, a small West African country known for its rich cultural heritage and diverse ecosystems, employs various abbreviations to facilitate communication, commerce, and governance. These abbreviations, ranging from ISO codes to airport identifiers and entity acronyms, serve essential purposes within Guinea-Bissau and in its interactions with the international community. In this guide, we will delve into Guinea-Bissau’s abbreviations and their significance.

ISO 3-Letter Code: GNB

The International Organization for Standardization (ISO) assigns unique three-letter country codes to nations worldwide. Guinea-Bissau’s ISO 3166-1 alpha-3 country code is “GNB.” This code is utilized in international transactions, communications, and databases to uniquely represent Guinea-Bissau.

ISO 2-Letter Code: GW

In addition to the three-letter code, Guinea-Bissau is assigned a two-letter ISO 3166-1 alpha-2 country code, which is “GW.” This code is widely employed in international contexts, such as transportation, commerce, and diplomacy, to succinctly represent Guinea-Bissau.

Top-Level Domain: .gw

Websites associated with Guinea-Bissau typically utilize the top-level domain “.gw.” This domain extension serves as a digital identifier for Guinean entities on the internet, including businesses, organizations, and government agencies.

Currency: West African CFA Franc (XOF)

The official currency of Guinea-Bissau is the West African CFA Franc (XOF). As the legal tender for all transactions within the country, the West African CFA Franc is used for everyday purchases, banking, and financial transactions.

Language Code: Portuguese (pt)

Portuguese is the official language of Guinea-Bissau and is represented by the language code “pt.” Portuguese is widely spoken and used in government, education, commerce, and media throughout the country.

Major Airports

  1. Osvaldo Vieira International Airport (OXB): Located in the capital city of Bissau, Osvaldo Vieira International Airport is the primary gateway to Guinea-Bissau. It serves as the main hub for international flights and domestic connections within the country.
  2. Bubaque Airport (BQE): Situated on the island of Bubaque in the Bijagós Archipelago, Bubaque Airport facilitates domestic air travel within Guinea-Bissau. It serves as a vital transportation link for the island communities.
  3. Bissau Airport (BXO): Bissau Airport, also known as Bissalanca Airport, is a domestic airport located near the capital city of Bissau. It supports domestic flights to and from various destinations within Guinea-Bissau.
  4. Cacheu Airport (BXO): Cacheu Airport serves the town of Cacheu in northern Guinea-Bissau. While primarily used for domestic flights, it also plays a role in supporting regional connectivity.
  5. Bafatá Airport (BFF): Bafatá Airport serves the city of Bafatá in central Guinea-Bissau. It facilitates domestic flights within the country, providing essential air transport services to the region.
  6. Gabú Airport (GBC): Gabú Airport is located in the city of Gabú in eastern Guinea-Bissau. It supports domestic flights connecting Gabú with other cities and towns within the country.
  7. Catio Airport (CTI): Catio Airport serves the town of Catio in southwestern Guinea-Bissau. It plays a crucial role in enhancing air travel accessibility in the region.
  8. Mansôa Airport (MNX): Mansôa Airport is located near the town of Mansôa in central Guinea-Bissau. It facilitates domestic air travel within the country, serving the local population and contributing to regional connectivity.
  9. Bolama Airport (BQQ): Bolama Airport is situated on the island of Bolama in the Bijagós Archipelago. While primarily serving domestic flights, it also supports occasional international flights and contributes to tourism in the region.
  10. Canchungo Airport (CXT): Canchungo Airport serves the town of Canchungo in northwestern Guinea-Bissau. It facilitates domestic flights within the country, supporting transportation and connectivity in the area.

Acronyms for Major Entities

  1. PAIGC: African Party for the Independence of Guinea and Cape Verde – PAIGC is a political party in Guinea-Bissau that played a significant role in the country’s struggle for independence from Portugal. It continues to be one of the major political parties in Guinea-Bissau.
  2. CBGB: Central Bank of Guinea-Bissau – CBGB is the central bank of Guinea-Bissau, responsible for formulating and implementing monetary policy, issuing currency, and regulating the banking sector to ensure financial stability and economic growth.
  3. CEDEAO: Economic Community of West African States – CEDEAO, also known as ECOWAS (Economic Community of West African States), is a regional economic bloc consisting of West African countries, including Guinea-Bissau. It aims to promote economic integration and cooperation among member states.
  4. INIDA: National Institute of Agricultural Research and Development – INIDA is a research institute in Guinea-Bissau dedicated to agricultural research and development. It plays a crucial role in improving agricultural productivity and food security in the country.
  5. APROCAB: Association of Cashew Processors in Guinea-Bissau – APROCAB is an association representing cashew processors in Guinea-Bissau. It works to promote the interests of its members and support the development of the cashew processing industry in the country.