Israel Abbreviations

Israel, a nation with a rich cultural heritage and diverse population, employs various abbreviations across different sectors. These abbreviations serve as essential tools for communication, governance, and commerce within the country and on the global stage. Here, we will list the abbreviations used in Israel and their respective purposes.

ISO 3-Letter Code: ISR

The ISO 3166-1 alpha-3 country code for Israel is “ISR.” This three-letter code is internationally recognized and used in various contexts such as trade, travel documentation, and data management to uniquely identify Israel.

ISO 2-Letter Code: IL

Israel’s two-letter ISO 3166-1 alpha-2 country code is “IL.” Similar to the three-letter code, this code is commonly employed in international transactions, telecommunications, and addressing systems to represent Israel succinctly.

Top-Level Domain: .il

Websites associated with Israel typically utilize the top-level domain “.il.” This domain extension serves as a digital identifier for Israeli entities on the internet, including businesses, organizations, and government agencies.

Currency: New Israeli Shekel (ILS)

The official currency of Israel is the New Israeli Shekel (ILS). It is abbreviated as “ILS” and is commonly referred to as “shekel” in everyday usage. The shekel is used for everyday purchases, banking, and financial transactions across the country.

Language Code: Hebrew (he)

Hebrew is one of Israel’s official languages and is represented by the language code “he.” It holds significant cultural and historical importance in Israel and is widely spoken and used for official purposes alongside Arabic.

Major Airports

  1. Ben Gurion Airport (TLV): Located near Tel Aviv, Ben Gurion Airport is Israel’s largest and busiest airport. It serves as the main international gateway to the country, offering flights to destinations across Europe, North America, Asia, and Africa.
  2. Sde Dov Airport (SDV): Situated in Tel Aviv, Sde Dov Airport primarily handles domestic flights within Israel, serving as a secondary airport for the Tel Aviv metropolitan area.
  3. Haifa Airport (HFA): Located in northern Israel near the city of Haifa, Haifa Airport serves as a regional airport providing domestic flights within Israel.
  4. Ovda Airport (VDA): Situated in southern Israel, Ovda Airport primarily serves as a military airbase but also operates some commercial flights, particularly during peak tourist seasons.
  5. Eilat Airport (ETH): Located in the southern resort city of Eilat, Eilat Airport facilitates domestic flights within Israel and limited international flights to destinations in Europe.
  6. Ramon Airport (ETM): Located near the city of Eilat in southern Israel, Ramon Airport is the newest international airport in Israel. It serves as a hub for domestic and international flights, offering modern facilities and infrastructure.
  7. Ben Ya’akov Airport (RPN): Situated in northern Israel near the city of Rosh Pina, Ben Ya’akov Airport is a small regional airport serving domestic flights within Israel.
  8. Mahanaim I Ben Yakov Airport (MTZ): Located in the northern region of Israel near the city of Beit She’an, Mahanaim I Ben Yakov Airport primarily serves as a military airbase but also operates some civilian flights.
  9. Bar Yehuda Airfield (MTZ): Located in the northern region of Israel near the city of Metula, Bar Yehuda Airfield is a small regional airport primarily serving general aviation and charter flights.
  10. Ein Yahav Airfield (EIY): Situated in southern Israel near the town of Ein Yahav, Ein Yahav Airfield primarily serves as a military airbase but also operates some civilian flights.

Acronyms for Major Entities

  1. IDF: Israel Defense Forces – The IDF is the military forces of the State of Israel, responsible for the defense and security of the country. It consists of ground forces, air force, and navy, and plays a crucial role in safeguarding Israel’s sovereignty and protecting its citizens.
  2. MOFA: Ministry of Foreign Affairs – The MOFA is the government ministry responsible for Israel’s foreign relations and diplomacy. It represents Israel’s interests abroad, negotiates treaties and agreements, and promotes diplomatic initiatives to advance Israel’s international standing.
  3. Knesset: The Knesset is Israel’s unicameral parliament, responsible for enacting laws, overseeing the government, and representing the Israeli people. It consists of 120 members (Knesset members or MKs) elected by proportional representation.
  4. MFA: Ministry of Finance – The MFA is the government ministry responsible for Israel’s economic policy, fiscal management, and financial regulation. It formulates and implements economic policies to promote growth, stability, and prosperity in Israel.
  5. MOH: Ministry of Health – The MOH is the government ministry responsible for public health policy, healthcare services, and medical regulation in Israel. It oversees healthcare institutions, public health programs, and disease prevention initiatives to safeguard the health and well-being of Israeli citizens.